International Cricket Council

Download The Official T20 World Cup App

Find Out More
SL team

Injury concerns as Sri Lanka name T20 World Cup squad

Sri Lanka, recent Asia Cup champions, have named their squad for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 with a couple of injury concerns in the list of 15.

Sri Lanka have named Dushmantha Chameera and Lahiru Kumara in the 15-member squad for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022, but their participation will be subject to their fitness ahead of the tournament.

Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrama, Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando and Nuwanidu Fernando are named as players on standby and only Bandara and Jayawickrama will travel with the squad to Australia.

Video cwc19 22 Oct 21
Mahela Jayawardena: Inspiring Sri Lanka's next generation | T20 World Cup

Most of the players from the Asia Cup 2022 feature in the T20 World Cup squad. The ones to miss out on both the main squad and reserve group are Matheesha Pathirana, who made his debut at the Asia Cup, Nuwan Thushara and Asitha Fernando.

Dinesh Chandimal, the veteran middle-order batter, who made a return to the T20I squad in the Asia Cup, only finds a place in the list of standby players.

The impressive left-arm quick Dilshan Madushanka retains his place in the squad after a great outing in the UAE. Dhananjaya de Silva and Jeffrey Vandersay retain their places after coming in for the Asia Cup.

Key fast bowler Chameera's ankle injury hasn’t healed completely and his return will depend on his fitness in a month's time. Despite his and Lahiru Kumara's doubtful participation, the squad has several pace options, with Madushanka, Pramod Madushan and Chamika Karunaratne named in the list.

T20 World Cup squad: Dasun Shanaka (c), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera (Subject to fitness), Lahiru Kumara (Subject to fitness), Dilshan Madushanka, Pramod Madushan

Standby Players: Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrema, Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando, Nuwanidu Fernando


Visit to collect iconic moments from ICC Cricket history!