International Cricket Council

Download The Official T20 World Cup App

Find Out More
Zimbabwe win

Sensational bowling display helps Zimbabwe clinch ICC Men's T20WC Qualifier B title

Zimbabwe came up with an incredible bowling performance to be crowned the winners of the 2022 ICC Men's T20 World Cup Qualifier B.


Final: Zimbabwe v Netherlands

Toss: Zimbabwe elected to bat first

Netherlands' pressure has Zimbabwe faltering

The Netherlands bowling unit was fired up for the Final which was quite apparent from their performance from the very off. Despite Regis Chakabva getting off to a decent start, the Dutch bowlers maintained the pressure. Logan van Beek delivered the all-important breakthrough of Craig Ervine, and Chakabva soon followed suit, with Bas de Leede getting his scalp. 

Sean Williams would then contribute 28 runs but the Zimbabwean middle-order failed to contribute much. The in-form Sikandar Raza was dismissed by van Beek as Zimbabwe crawled their way to a score of 132 all out in 19.3 overs.

For Netherlands, Bas de Leede (2/19) and Logan van Beek (3/18) did most of the damage. The bowlers helped Netherlands restrict Zimbabwe to a score that was certainly chaseable. 

Zimbabwe's brilliant bowling leads them to glory

To defend the score, Zimbabwe needed a spirited effort from their bowlers. Wesley Madhevere started the ball rolling for the hosts in the third over, delivering two crucial blows. He would first trap Max O'Dowd for 12 and then trapped Bas de Leede in front for 1. 

This would charge the hosts up as a flurry of wickets would then follow. Milton Shumba would affect a brilliant run out to send Tom Cooper packing. Stephan Myburgh would be dismissed lbw by Sikandar Raza for 22. Scott Edwards (7) and Logan van Beek (0) too couldn't last long, as Netherlands were now reeling at 56/6.

Raza would then get his fourth with the scalp of Klaassen, to end up with figures of 4/8 in his four overs, in what was a match-winning spell. Luke Jongwe would finish off the proceedings by cleaning up the tail, to lead Zimbabwe to an incredible 37-run victory. 

Groups for Australia 2022 locked in!

With Zimbabwe's win, the groups for the first round of the tournament proper have been set.

After defeat in the final, the Netherlands will feature in Group A of the first round in Geelong, alongside Sri Lanka, UAE and Namibia.

Zimbabwe head to group B, where they'll face the West Indies, Scotland and Ireland.

The top two from each First Round group progress to the Super 12 stage.


Feel the buzz in the stands and see the best teams in the world play on the biggest stage of all.