International Cricket Council

Download The Official T20 World Cup App

Find Out More

Final two teams confirm places in ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022

Netherlands and Zimbabwe booked their place in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 after seeing off USA and PNG respectively in semi-finals of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup Qualifier B.


Netherlands saw off a spirited effort from USA to seal a seven-wicket victory in their semi-final after restricting USA to 138 in 19.4 overs even as Zimbabwe held of a valiant PNG by 27 runs. 

Semi-final 2: Netherlands v USA

Netherlands won by seven wickets

Toss: USA elected to bat 

It was a dream start for the USA, who were hoping to make their first global ICC tournament. The in-form Steven Taylor and skipper Monank Patel laid a solid foundation with a 51-run opening stand in just five overs.

Paul van Meekeren drew the first blood for the Netherlands with an all-important wicket of Taylor, who fell for 26 – his lowest score in the tournament so far. Unfortunately for the USA, the wicket triggered a collapse. 

Monank was the next batter to fall, getting caught off Shariz Ahmad, for a well-made 15-ball 32. Aaron Jones (15), Jaskaran Malhotra (12) and Nisarg Patel (28) were the only other batters to have scored runs in double digits as the pressure got the better of the USA line-up. N

etherlands fought back well and had the USA bowled out in 19.4 overs for 138. 

Video cwc19 27 Apr 22
Dream Big Moment | Netherlands' heist against Ireland

Chasing 139, the Netherlands got off to a shaky start, having lost their opener Stephan Myburgh for a duck to Saurabh Netravalkar. After the early hiccup, Max O'Dowd and Bas de Leede batted with caution.

In the last over of the Powerplay, they shifted gears with three boundaries, finishing the first six overs on 53/1. The Dutch lost two wickets in back-to-back overs, but de Leede continued to lead the attack as he brought up a crucial fifty from 33 balls.

Leede lost Max O'Dowd (16) and Tom Cooper (1) in quick succession thereafter, but he held firm, putting on an important partnership with captain Scott Edwards to see the side through to a second consecutive ICC Men's T20 World Cup appearance. 

Video cwc19 15 Jul 22
Massive crowd vibe in Bulawayo | ICC Men's T20WC Qualifier B

Semi-final 1: Zimbabwe v Papua New Guinea

Zimbabwe won by 27 runs

Toss: Zimbabwe chose to bat

The tournament hosts Zimbabwe's decision to have a bat first turned out to be a fruitful one. The experienced duo of Regis Chakabva and skipper Craig Ervine provided a good start, with the former adopting an aggressive approach.

Chakabva struck the first boundary of the match in the very first over, and followed that up with a flurry of fours – three back-to-back off Sema Kamea. An over later, he smacked a six, looking even more dangerous. 

However, his blazing innings was ended by Sese Bau, who had him trapped in front for a 19-ball 30. The wicket did not put the brakes on Zimbabwe's flow of runs though as both Ervine and Wesley Madhevere struck regular boundaries. At the end of the 10th over, Zimbabwe looked strong on 90/1.

However, inside the next five overs, the hosts lost Ervine on 38, while Madhevere fell after top-scoring with a 29-ball 42. The middle-order contributed with valuable runs, helping their side post a strong 199/5 from the allotted 20 overs. 

Everything was going Zimbabwe's way as they picked up a wicket on the very first ball of PNG's innings with opener Lega Siaka's dismissal. They lost two more wickets in quick succession as they were reduced to 45/3 in the Powerplay.

With the asking rate going up, Tony Ura started attacking with the bat, smashing two sixes in a row in Sikandar Raza's over. His partner Charles Amini, too, was looking set for a big innings before falling prey to Luke Jongwe's outside-off yorker. Ura, however, remained unperturbed as he continued with his business – smashing boundaries at will. 

Zimbabwe secured their place in the marquee event in Australia
Zimbabwe secured their place in the marquee event in Australia

Zimbabwe missed a big opportunity when they had the danger man, Ura, caught when he was on 49 but the delivery was called a no-ball as the bowler Richard Ngarava had overstepped. Ura was eventually dismissed for a 35-ball 66. Thereafter, the bowlers kept the pressure up.

When Ura fell, PNG were 139/5. They ended on 172/8 after 20 overs, falling short by 27 runs. The home crowd went wild as Zimbabwe sealed their place in the marquee event in Australia.

Confirmed teams at ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 

Hosts Australia (defending champions)
Top 11 teams from the 2021 ICC Men's T20WC Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, Namibia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies
Top two teams from Global Qualifier A Ireland and United Arab Emirates
Top two teams from Global Qualifier B Netherlands and Zimbabwe

Note: The teams that made it to the Super 12 stage of the 2021 ICC Men's T20 World Cup automatically qualified for the 2022 event.

The following teams will play in the first round, which comprises two groups. The top two teams from each group will join Australia, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa in the Super 12s.

Group A Group B
Namibia Ireland
Sri Lanka Scotland
UAE West Indies
Netherlands/Zimbabwe Netherlands/Zimbabwe


T20WC 2022 Fixtures

Click here to see the full fixtures for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022.