International Cricket Council

Download The Official T20 World Cup App

Find Out More

Nissanka, Dananjaya make the cut as Sri Lanka announce final T20 World Cup squad

Sri Lanka have announced their final 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021.

Sri Lanka have added Lahiru Kumara, Pathum Nissanka, Akila Dananjaya and Binura Fernando to the final squad of 15 from the provisional squad that was announced earlier. Kamindu Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep and Praveen Jayawickrama, who were initially part of the squad, failed to make the cut. Lahiru Madushanka too missed out on making the final 15 after suffering a fractured collarbone during T20I series against South Africa.

The squad will be led by Dasun Shanaka as the team begin their campaign on 18 October against Namibia in Abu Dhabi in Group A of the First Round, where they have also drawn Ireland and the Netherlands.

21-year-old off-spinner Maheesh Theekshana, who made his T20I debut in the first match against South Africa and dismissed Heinrich Klaasen, has been included. The youngster was also impressive in his ODI debut earlier this week, picking up a four-wicket haul.

The fast bowling department will be led by Dushmantha Chameera in the company of Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando and all-rounder Chamika Karunaratne. 

Squad: Dasun Shanaka (captain), Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya De Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Maheesh Theekshana, Akila Dananjaya, Binura Fernando.